top of page

Pyromania and Art


firework explosion

Have I ever mentioned what a pyro my husband is when it comes to the 4th of July? The firework stands start to pop up and he gets a crazed look every time we pass one by, like it is all he can do to restrain himself! Certainly we need to spend money on ONE MORE THING THAT GOES BOOM... (Personally I think it would save so much time if we lit some bills on fire and terrified the cats with them- it would cover everything that happens without the middle man...) OK, so fireworks ARE pretty, and I DO tend to let out an occasional 'wow' or 'oooh' when we see them... OK maybe more than occasionally...



With the BBQ's fired up and the aroma of gunpowder that wafts through the neighborhood at night, it's hard not to love America's Birthday. I just have to accept the fact that I married into pyromania.


I DO like sparklers though, because yes, YOU CAN DRAW WITH THEM! So I do try to contribute in my own way to celebrating with fireworks, even though my husband thinks I am ridiculous to not love mortars and roman candles and such. Sparklers are artsy, and I am a total nerd with them. I do not care. We complement each other's level of 'pyro,' so if we buy a kit of fireworks, they all get used. It works for us.

sparklers spelling out love in the dark

I wish your family a bright and shiny holiday. May you not catch anything on fire or blow off any fingers (like Greg almost did once when a lit firework landed in our box of fireworks and he instinctively tried to put it out...) Happy 4th of July!


Quick update - My husband floored me after writing this post by telling me he didn't want to buy any fireworks this year because all the kids will be away. Ya never know...

 

I want to take the opportunity to commend Cheryl Deeter for her leadership in teaching the 'Painting With A Spiritual Twist' classes. We are learning so much and she is an inspirational, motivational and informative teacher who makes us think outside the box. If you didn't make this first set of classes, be sure to sign up when she does it again. You won't be disappointed. (Kudos Cheryl!! What an amazing artist you are!)


 

The Sunday Calendar for July is as follows:

July 1st Jaden Laventure and John Swopes

July 8th Warren Follet and John Copeland

July 15th Cheryl Deeter and Barbara Vaughn

July 22nd Kacie Copeland and Martita Stanton

July 29th Amber Parson and John Swopes

bottom of page