top of page

Acts 14:3

God asked me a difficult question yesterday morning. He often does that, but this was particularly intense. He spoke this into my spirit, "Do you believe in your shortcomings more than you believe in Me?" As I felt His words examining my heart, I didn't like the ugly 'dross' that what was surfacing from His refinement of me. The truth was, I often have carried around this impending sense that sooner or later I will totally fail God, and be of no use to Him anymore. And then I will just get thrown away like a useless piece of trash. And yes, it sucks. I have had to push such thinking down and keep going, but evidently God wants this nagging thinking COMPLETELY gone. Holy Spirit leads us into ALL truth, and into victory. Hallelujah for that, Father!

For several weeks now (months?) God has been showing me things about this verse, and the passage that precedes it:

(2 Timothy 3:5) Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

It's the phrase about denying the power of God that has been schooling me lately. It applies in so many areas. We often think of 'denying God' as being like Peter - claiming not to know God at all before Jesus was crucified. But what God keeps asking, is this - 'Where are the areas in my life where I am denying His power, His ability? Where do I need my faith to be forceful?'

I feel He wants us to examine and prepare ourselves by looking at what areas we may still be denying His ability to bring powerful victory and change: be it in our relationships, belief about circumstances, parts of our character, fears, or areas of wrong thinking. What things have we given up on through unbelief?

The word for 'power' in that scripture speaks not only of ability, but of miracle working power and force. It is most often attributed to evangelistic endeavor. God is surely preparing His church for a very great and forceful move of evangelism in the earth - in our community and around the globe. 'Creative Arts' are going to be a part of that.

This boldness of faith is what I have seen starting to bloom from all of you/us who have volunteered to put yourself out there to paint and write. Each week I see men, women and children willing to touch others - to stand up there in front of everyone - even though you have often confided that what you prepared felt like it was 'way off.' Each time it has hit the mark and impacted someone's life. That is no small thing. God is helping us put down those areas of unbelief and step out in trust because we believe in the powerful work He will do through us. Am I the only one who sees how cool that is? (lol of course not. But isn't that so cool?) He won't leave a single one of us behind in this. I can't thank Him or you enough for your faith and faithfulness. Just sayin.' Thank you.

The calendar for March is set. Before I add more to it, please email or text me (the contact form also works) if you would be willing to write and paint more often. Pastor Lesa has said she would like two painters and writers for each service, with one weekend a month reserved more for the children's ministry to paint. (That was awesome Amber!!) We want to accommodate you and try to keep the schedule so people can prepare, yet be flexible when God moves. Also, Cheryl Deeter will be starting Art Classes in the near future, so be thinking about honing your skills even more so we can convey what God is revealing to us! (You know the scripture about writing the vision and making it plain? That applies to us too, I think.) I am going to sign up. This is part of His equipping us to use our gifts to evangelize through Him, so I hope you will consider it too.

-shell


bottom of page